SC-44 Review

Hello everyone, it’s time for a review. Today, I’ll be reviewing the Siemens SC-44 Charger locomotive. Keep in mind, as of this posting, the locomotive is still in testing stages, and not yet a revenue service engine!

28275091043_1eb9692b20_b

The Siemens SC-44 Charger is a modern diesel electric built by Siemens, the same people behind the Amtrak Cities Sprinter (ACS-64).

12384532733_c2fc79e522_b
From first appearances, the Siemens SC-44 looks similar to the ACS-64 which doesn’t surprise me in the slightest. These locomotives are intended to become used by Amtrak for its state corridor services, MARC in Maryland to replace the electric locomotive fleet, and All Aboard Florida. From what I have seen in videos of the testing, the locomotives are very smooth performers and look like they will be durable like their electric counterparts. What I expect from them is a new age in passenger rail, and hopefully will be able to retire Amtrak’s dependance on the troublesome GE P42DC.
amtrak-107-diesel-locomotive-p42dc

Now before you say it, I don’t hate the P42DC, I’m just not keen on them. They look sharp in Phase V, but they never have appealed to me, probably because I was more of an F40PH fan. But, I do have respect for them.
7477-1083192720
Now, my final thoughts. While the Siemens SC-44 Charger has a lot to prove over the coming years, I think this will be a terrific passenger locomotive and a great one that will be like its electric counterpart, a force to be reckoned with in the passenger locomotive business.
I know this was a short review, but considering that the locomotive hasn’t entered revenue service, all opinions are speculations. I will do a follow up once the Charger enters service, until then this is Jessica K, out.

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

