Does Modern Television Suck?

Hello everyone, my name is Jessica Kasumi, and I am back with another blog post for you wonderful people. It recently came to my attention, that television programs are getting weirder, and dumber, which got me to thinking, “Does Modern Television Really Suck?”. In short order,the answer is mostly, “yes”. In order to do this post, I had to sit through hours of television programs, and while I won’t be calling out any particular show, I will list some of the major issues that make modern television a serious letdown in my personal opinion.

The first issue that comes to my mind, is horrible story arcs. Yes, a television show doesn’t always need a story arc, but most story arcs are so forced, or horribly contrived that it makes the show seem like a carbon copy of each other. Whether it’s one of the god-awful tween programs, or an obviously scripted reality program, the story arcs in television today are largely uninspiring, and bland as can be. Sadly, I think television will remain like this, because the networks don’t want to take risks, and make engaging stories that will captivate an audience, and make them think because they want things to be safe so as not to cause controversy from small groups who let minor things bug them.

Next issue is the acting. My god, a lot of today’s up, and coming actors, and actresses can’t act for a hill of beans. Whenever they talk, they sound whiny, uninspired, boring, or just plain lazy. On many shows that I have sat through I have seen some of the laziest acting I have ever seen in my entire life. Now, not every person is horrible in acting, but, the majority of them suck so bad, that they don’t even deserve a career in show business, but would do better as workers in a fast food restaurant. Simply put, the acting of today’s actors is boring as sin.

Third, we have story arcs that tend to use cliches or stereotypes and this is quite frankly, getting old, real quick. I don’t mind an occasional cliche or stereotype if they’re trying to knock it down, and dismantle it. But, a lot of the new programs use these to their advantage because networks think that this garbage is absolutely funny, and it’s not. Whether it’s a stereotype belief that all African Americans like fried chicken, or all Asian Americans are supposed to be smart, or evil, it really needs to stop. It’s not how all people are, and it’s just insulting to people.

Then, we have too many reality programs. As I said on my previous blog, I am completely, 100% anti-reality TV, for many reasons I can’t fathom in one post, but the fact of the matter is, 99.9% of reality television is boring, and probably faked for cameras. I don’t know how people can be so gullible into watching these boring programs time, after time, and quite frankly, I don’t care. If people are that gullible, then so be it. Let them be sucked into a land of fake drama, and competitions where celebrities who judge don’t really care about you, but care more about that pay check they get at the end of the day.

Lastly, lets discuss the news media. Oh god, the news media. I’m sorry, but, I don’t like the news media anymore. The reason is rather simple. When something goes wrong, or someone says something, they will run it into the ground, and paint something in a negative light all the live long day, instead of trying to do the smart thing, and research everything to make sure that it’s the truth. Instead, they often take something and run with it, no matter how true, or how false it might be. For example, when a train crashes, they’re quick to put the railroad industry in the negative light, and even when it’s discovered that the crash was an accident beyond control, they continue to do the same exact thing, and it’s just plain bad journalism. When a cop does something, and is falsely accused of doing something else, they won’t let him have alone time. How about they actually do something right, and look into it, and report the truth, and not badger the poor individual. It can be very stressful, and potentially lead them to commit suicide, or die of stress. So yeah, you can tell, I’m not a big news media person.

With that said, I’m done. My final thoughts: While television predominantly sucks, I do believe that it can get better if people actually put effort into making good stories, good research for news stories, and so on.

Until next time, this is Jessica Kasumi, out.

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

